A Taste of Polska

As it turns out, I got my first taste of Poland sooner than I thought!

Yesterday morning I received a text message from my cousin Kathy asking if I wanted to go to the Polish Festival in Downtown Syracuse. I was thrilled for the opportunity to try some Polish food and get a feel for the Polish community in Syracuse.

After scoping out the festival, we (Kathy, Paul, Cecilia, Kurt and I) decided on a place to eat. After considering our options, we settled on Eva’s Polish Restaurant. It was clearly a crowd favorite, based on the line.

Eva's Polish Restaurant
Eva’s Polish Restaurant

The long line allowed me plenty of time to decide on which Polish delicacy I wanted. After careful deliberation, I decided on the Kielbasa sandwich.

Kielbasa sandwich topped with grilled onions and sauerkraut
Kielbasa sandwich topped with grilled onions and sauerkraut

It was delicious. In addition to trying the Kielbasa, Kathy was kind enough to let me try a few bites of the Polish sampler plate she got.

Polish Sampler Plate. I wish I remembered the names of everything on the plate (besides the pierogies)
Polish Sampler Plate. I wish I remembered the names of everything on the plate (besides the pierogies)

If Polish food in Syracuse is any indication of how the food in Poland will actually taste, I seriously can’t wait to stuff my face when I’m abroad.

Now the festival was more than just food, they also were selling a ton of Polish merchandise and were enticing the crowds with a little polka.

Polish merchandise, anyone?
Polish merchandise, anyone?
The band and some lovely people polka dancing
The band and some lovely people polka dancing

All in all, it was a wonderful evening of food, fun, and polka. Only 79 more days!

Clinton Square
Clinton Square – Syracuse Polish Festival

KCO

2 thoughts on “A Taste of Polska

  1. Will be waiting with bated breath for each addition. I can’t help but smile as I see your Dad in your writing. Excellent as always, love. Keep them coming – you always add sunshine to Grandma’s day.

Leave a Reply

